04 June 2022

F.A.Q. Part 1

 Here is Part 1 of my current F.A.Q. document.  It deals specifically with rules questions in no particular order.  Part 2 will deal with more philosophical style - what were you thinking - type questions.  My answers are in red.

I'll add these as a .pdf document into the FAQ tab at the top of the page once it is combined.




We pulled an aircraft chit for the Russians and rolled up a Su-25 Frogfoot with 2 AAMs with a Gatling Heavy Autocannon (Tankbuster) – No.6 on the chart.  We could not find any penetration values for that weapon or even any for NATO.  Do we use the weapons off the AFV list?  We got the part about upping the penetration table by 4 lines!

Yes, use the weapons off the AFV charts - in this case the 30mm 2A42. Most NATO planes should have the equivalent of the 20mm Vulcan Gatling Gun. The A-10 should use the 30mm RARDEN stats.

 Aircraft always hits top armour.  When your chose to introduce top armour in your Cold War variant, it meant that air support could destroy tanks too effectively. Bombs and Air-to-Surface Missiles have too high value of Armour Penetration while max value of top armour is 3. So practically any bombs and Air-to-Surface Missiles will destroy any tank (even the most armoured) on 4+.

I’m really not sure I have such an issue with this to be honest.  If an AFV manages to get hit by pretty much anything delivered by an aircraft, I can’t see much of a chance of it surviving.  However, jet aircraft appearing on the table should be relatively rare and not be game killers, as they typically attack one thing before flying off again.


We have allowed ATGM's to fire using the Ambush Fire order.  Is that correct?  If so, can they attempt to fire again on Ambush fire if they failed to spot the first time?

I have no issue with a ATGM using the Ambush Fire order.  However, they only get one chance to spot as the "Shoot & Track" order takes up two activations.  If you don't observe the target – sadly you Ambush Fire order is wasted.

Reloading ATGM vehicles.  A non-specialist vehicle like the BMP is a 1/1. Having fired an ATGM on turn 1, we assumed it has to spend turn 2 reloading, before it can fire again in turn 3.

A specialist vehicle like the FV438 is a 2/5. Having fired in turns 1 and 2, we assumed it has to spend turn 3 reloading, before it can fire again in turns 4 and 5.
The questions are;
1) were we right it takes a turn to reload?
2) does it take a reload order or is it assumed the vehicle will reload using their own initiative?
3) we didn't use man packed ATGMs, but we assume once they have fired their ready ammo (3 shots) they can be reloaded from their transport vehicle - does this need a resupply order?

1) Under the new rule “Vehicle mounted ATGMs – Missile Ammunition” all vehicles mounting ATGMs take one turn, where they must remain stationary, to reload.  This does not apply to tabks that are capable of firing ATGMs or vehicles that have the “Fast Re-loader” vehicle trait.

2) In this case there is no “Reload” order.  In fact, the stationary vehicle cannot be given orders or activated.  It is just assumed that the crew knows what it's doing and is concentrating on reloading as quickly as it can.
3) Regarding man-packed ATGM you'll note the restricted ammo rule currently is an optional rule. The rule states that the team can be re-supplied from their attached (or parent) vehicle or if they don't have one - from a standard re-supply vehicle. Both these options use the standard resupply rules.

The BRDM-2/Sagger have an ammo rating of 6/1, this means it has 6 missiles ready to fire and when it has fired all of them, it can then reload all 6 missiles once in the game?
Yes that is correct

 Still referring to the BRDM-2/Sagger, how many missiles can it fire per "Shoot & Track" order? All 6 missiles or one per order?

Just one missile per Shoot & Track order - so one missile per turn. Assuming your BRDM-2/AT-3 doesn't want to move and has a target every turn it could sit there had shoot every turn for 6 turns.

Question about ATGMs with tandem warheads. The rules state that it ignores composite armour and ERA. I thought tandem charges were designed do defeat ERA only? The addition of a small initial explosive charge shouldn’t really affect the main HEAT charge's penetration vs composite armour should it?

Under Tandem Warheads in the ATGM section it states laminate and/or ERA.  However, in the next sentence I state “AFVs with the Advanced Armour trait do not get to add 1D6 to their armour value against hits by missiles with tandem warheads”.  This is incorrect – it should read “AFVs with the Reactive Armour trait do not get to add 1D6 to their armour value against hits by missiles with tandem warheads”.

Can passengers in an IFV, disembark at the same time as the IFV is using the “Shoot & Track - ATGM” order?

No it cannot.  An IFV could fire its main gun and disembark, or move and disembark, but Shoot & Track ATGM is a double activation order and it's pretty clear that whatever is firing and tracking the ATGM, be it vehicle or an infantry ATGM team, can do nothing else that turn.


Are LAWs one use only?  I know in real life they are and there is a brief descriptive mention that they are in the rules but we didn't notice a concrete ruling on it and we had a few thoughts - either they're unlimited use, representing the extras that may have been carried in transports or lugged around by other members of the section - or that they are realistic and single use, in which case we thought that they may be quite expensive in comparison to other NATO/Pact options such as PzF's/RPGs, etc.  What is the actual rule on this? Cause we could see it going either way.

LAWs are like Panzerfausts in standard Battlegroup.  Definitely one use only.

Options: May take a M72A2 LAW + 5 pts.  Does this mean I can take only one LAW or their number in a squad is not limited?

May take one only for +5 points

Not found in the Rules description, where can I find the mechanics of fire for a M72A2 LAW, AT 4 LAW, RPG or grenade launcher etc)?

Use "Area Fire - with small arms, machine guns & High Explosive Shells" from the Battlegroup main rule book or "Aimed Fire - with small arms and machineguns" from the Cold War variant rule book. The small arms and other weapons 'To Hit' table on page 8 and the LAW, RPG, MAW, Recoilless Rifle and Automatic Grenade Launcher Table on Page 9, along with the commentary below it should help. There is also information on Page 21 about all of those weapons, but in the next update I need to change some of the information in the little call out boxes which is no longer correct.


I have a M60A1 RISE/PASSIVE.  It has the following weapons: 105mm L68A1 – Turret, MG - Co-axial, HMG – Turret. 

How many shots to infantry can be made from HMG – Turret? RoF 6

2) I want to fire on enemy infantry. Do I understand correctly that I can only fire from 105mm L68A1 or from MG.  That's the way I've always played it

3) The tank has a MG and HMG. Can I fire them at the same time, i.e. throw 3 dice per MG and plus 6 for the HMG?  I've always played it that you can't. You must choose one or the other. However, I could swear I’ve seen some commentary on Facebook commentary where it indicated it was possible to fire two MGs at a target. I’ll keep looking and come back with a more definitive yes/no.


Can I ask what the reasoning is for not including the BM-21 as on table artillery? Simply because their engagement range would put them as far away from the front at possible? I have seen them included in some other lists.

If you look at the Soviet lists all of them (except Soviet Naval Infantry) have had the BM-21s and a number of other high level artillery assets removed from the artillery section of the list and can now be found only in the additional fire support section. This means they are all now off-table.

I've left the BM-21 in the SNI list as it was found Regimental rather than divisional level. The SNI had no 2S1 batteries. Still, I'm sure it could be easily argued that even here they should really just be off table assets.


A small mistake (?) in the capacity of NATO helicopters. Two Rifle Squads U.S. Marines 26 men, helicopters capacity of 24. Two man left at the base?
The two CH-46E are purchased for the Platoon. The Platoon has 42 men in it. Together the helicopters can carry 48 men. One squad can be split using the fireteam rule. The helo carrying the Platoon Command Squad and 1 Rifle Squad has space for up to 8 men.

Can I put the Forward Headquarters on the helicopter?
Can't see any reason why not. Using the USMC as an example - there is space in the CH-46Es for the Forward HQ. However, if you buy a bunch of Platoon Support options and you want to also helo-transport them, I'd just add another helicopter for 25 pts +2-r BR. That should work. Just work on what you and your opponent are happy with.

No comments:

Post a Comment